Prayers and Thoughts for the Harris Family

Per the Discovery Channel:  

Capt. Phil Harris suffered what his family described as a massive stroke on Jan. 29 while the boat was in port at St. Paul Island, Alaska. The 53-year-old fisherman was flown to Anchorage for surgery.

A Discovery spokesman says the Harris family contacted the network Tuesday evening with word of his death.

Discovery Channel spokeswoman Elizabeth Hillman issued a statement on behalf of sons Jake and Josh Harris. It says in part, “It is with great sadness that we say goodbye to our dad — Captain Phil Harris. Dad has always been a fighter and continued to be until the end.”

In the network’s own statement, Hillman says, “We will miss his straightforward honesty, wicked sense of humor and enormous heart.”

In an e-mail she said no additional information was immediately available.

The Discovery Channel reality show depicts the crab fishing industry in the dangerous waters off Alaska. Harris’ fishing vessel was based in Seattle.

This entry was posted in Phil Harris and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Prayers and Thoughts for the Harris Family

  1. Johanna says:

    Capt.Phil..You`ll be missed… My thoughts and prayers are whit Josh and Jake and all the family and the Cornelia Marie.

  2. Roland Smith says:

    My wife and I wish to extend our deepest condolances to Jake, Josh and the entire crew of the Cornelia Marie at this most difficult time. We have been fans of Deadliest Catch for many years and Phil was clearly our favorite skipper in the fleet. May Jake and Josh find the grace of God to help them through this crushing loss. You are your Dad’s legacy, and he will sail with you forever. God speed, Fair winds and following seas to all of you.

  3. Phil Fan says:

    Horrible news, but Phil died as he lived, to the fullest extent possible. This will be a very sad start to the season.

  4. Marti Barrows says:

    R.I.P., Cap’n Phil. We’ll miss you. Deep condolences to his family.

  5. Brian Osburn says:

    Capt. Phil has died

    RIP Capt. Phil…

  6. Mari Adkins says:

    I’m heartbroken. My thoughts go out to his family.

  7. Chilegirl64 says:

    Psalm 107: 23-26

    They that go down to the sea in ships, that do business in great waters;…

    We’ll truly miss you Phil, bleeps and all.

  8. AngelEye says:

    R.I.P. captain Phil, we will miss you!

  9. Kris Sardina says:

    You will be missed. I don’t know if I will beable to watch this season with knowing you won’t be there. Walk with the angels so that you can keep your boys safe.

    Kris (Milwaukee, WI.)

  10. I didnt want to believe it, but now I know its true, my deepest condolences to the harris family, he will be greatly missed. we love you Phill RIP

  11. Sandy S. says:

    I am at a complete loss for words; I am shocked and saddened by the passing of Captain Phil. He was my absolute favorite captain; My heart-felt condolences to Jake and Josh and the entire Cornelia Marie family. REST IN PEACE DEAR CAPTAIN PHIL HARRIS.

  12. Jen says:

    I’m stunned. Wow.
    I will miss him so much.

  13. Pingback: *raises a glass* We’ll Miss You, Phil Harris « Redneck Romance Writer

  14. Lothian says:

    My heart is breaking. I feel so sad for the family and crew. Bless them all.

  15. corin006 says:

    c’est avec beaucoup de tristesse que nous apprenons cette terrible nouvelle et
    toutes nos pensées accompagnent la famille et les proches

    It is with a lot of sadness that we learn this terrible piece of news(short story) and all our thoughts accompany the family and the close relations

    Corinne and his family from NICE in FRANCE

  16. Kari Harlan says:

    Harris family & Cornelia Marie crew- Thank you so much for sharing your lives with us on Deadliest Catch. We’ve loved getting to spend years getting to know you and love you. I’m so sorry to hear of Phil’s passing. We’re thinking of you all.

  17. Ruth Williams says:

    To the Harris Family the Crew of the Cornelia Marie and the entire extended family of Deadliest Catch Capt. Phil will be missed greatly not only because he was a star but because he was a hard working, down to earth, loving & proud father and a true craftsman of his profession. Love Always

  18. you will be missed,my thoughts and Prayers to the family,God Bless.

  19. Diana says:

    The fleet has lost a great captain, you will be missed… Josh, Jake, family and friends, you are in our thoughts and prayers.
    Diana and family (flevoland, the Netherlands)

  20. Rick Gallant says:

    Ilove the man he made the show ,My regards to family and friends

  21. Michelle says:

    Captain Phil you will be missed dearly. May you ride on angels wings and god speed. To the family, friends and the crew our thoughts and prayers are with you during your time of grief.

  22. eric stern says:

    My family and I are terribly upset hearing of the loss of Captian Phil. He was a fantastic father and a great man. I am just in tears.

  23. bill calhoun says:

    what a loss

  24. Casper L says:

    R.I.P Phil! may you sail for Ever!!

  25. dana says:

    you will truley be missed in my house. you were my favorite captian on the show!

  26. Colleen says:

    What a great guy,such a terrible loss.We loved watching him on the show. My regards to the family .

  27. watch the show relentlessly will miss phil greatly. one of the best .sorry for the boys but they can be proud of the great fisherman phil saddly missed. Signed Chuck

  28. margaret wagner says:

    i’m so sorry for your loss.my husband passed just about 2 years ago.your show made it a little easier to keep going.you have my deepiest regards.he was a great guy to watch and i will miss him so much.

  29. Scott Walter says:

    I am just bummed.

Leave a Reply

