…About Monte Colburn of the F/V Wizard

The Sierra Sun just posted an article on Monte Colburn of the F/V Wizard.  Also known as ‘mouse’, Monte is actually a seasoned veteran of 22 years and sounds like he takes much enjoyment in his family life when he’s not out at sea….

Monte Colburn has spent much of his life dodging heavy runaway crab pots and balancing on the icy deck of a 155-foot fishing boat in the churning Bering Sea.Now he does it on national television.

But despite the adventure, the adrenaline — and now the unexpected fame of the “Deadliest Catch,” a reality TV show — Colburn’s heart is always in the quiet Kings Beach home he shares with his family.

 

Monte Colburn of the F/V Wizard. (Photo courtesy of Discovery)

Monte Colburn of the F/V Wizard. (Photo courtesy of Discovery)

Every October for the past 22 years, the deep sea fisherman leaves North Tahoe and sets out for Alaska to perform what is deemed one of the deadliest lines of work — catching Alaskan crab. Millions of Americans tune in weekly to watch Colburn and his crew battle the elements of the northernmost region of the Pacific Ocean.“I never imagined being on television, not in a million years. It’s still a bit baffling,” Colburn said recently while lounging on his lake-view deck.

Colburn serves as co-captain of the Wizard, his brother Keith’s Alaskan crab fishing vessel, which is featured on the Discovery Channel’s Deadliest Catch series.

But Colburn hasn’t let the public exposure get to his head.

“We’re just fisherman and then all of the sudden they’re filming our boat and we’re on television,” he said. “It takes a little getting used to.”

There are advantages in being a reality television personality, Colburn said. The Discovery Channel provides heavy-duty rain gear for the entire crew, and “throws a nugget toward the fuel bill,” he said.

 

Read the rest

This entry was posted in Deadliest Catch 4, interviews, Monte Colburn and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to …About Monte Colburn of the F/V Wizard

  1. Jen says:

    Keith is very lucky to have such an awesome brother.

  2. Dawn says:

    Monte, You and Keith are definitely brothers. You two were tested in front of the cameras last year. Try and have a little fun this next year. Buy Keith his own private stock of Cup of Noodles… Eat them first. I think he just eats..oops uses the styrofoam… Good Kharma too….lol

  3. April R LeBlanc says:

    Hi Monte How are you doing? Hope you guys catch alot of crab this season How are you and your brother Capt Keith Colburn getting along? I want to try Crab fishing sometime I love watching the Deadliest Catch on TV this Friday I watch 14 Hours if the Deadliest Catch on Dis Channel I can not get a enough of this show I am addicted to this show I do not miss any of the show I make sure I am home to watch it on TV I know that Thanksgiving has passed but I wanted to tell you Happy Thanksgiving anyway ok I want you guts to be very careful out there ok I would not want anything to happen to you and the rest of the crew I recently lost a close friend that was a Captian of the boat The boat sank and he is still missing they got the crew and they are doing fine but the coasties still can not fine the Captian of the vessel I think they are still looking for him I do not know if they found him or not and if they cancelled the search for him I am sorry But I had to stop for a few minutes because I started to cry Us fishingmen are like a big family and when something happens to one of us it hits home I have a small statue of a wizard on my desk this statue mines me of The F/V Wizard every time I am at my dest I look at it and smile I love wizards,dragons,horses,crabs.dolphines,star fish and any other things that are part of the ocean The wizard on my desk is holdin in one hand a cristal ball and the other hand a egg with the dragon hatching out of it and on my wall in my office I have A 2 bladed hatchet of a dragon with his tail wraped around the handle and holding on to a cristal ball in on the 2 blades are a dragon flying in the air breathing fire at a castle I would love to meet you guys from the F/V Wizard

    Thank You for you time
    April

Leave a comment