The Mysterious Red Boat Identified

Six weeks ago or so a mysterious guest made a few comments here on Deadliest Reports that we could count on being introduced to an awesome fishing vessel & crew in season 4.  It was, he said, a bright boat.

As a little teaser for some of you Rollo fans, there will be a certain somebody from the Rollo making a come back in season four. Teaming up with some new blood on a never before featured big red boat. The crab fishing dream team has been assembled for season 4’s new heavy hitter!

  And one of Deadliest Reports’ favorite blogger, Alaskasteve–who actually resides in Dutch Harbor and gets to enjoy a clear view of the harbor itself–posted on his blog recently that he’d heard of a possible comeback for the F/V North American.  Mystery solved!  The latest “Inside the Catch” blog on the Discovery website confirms that we will indeed be watching another Norwegian family next season, as they ply the wretched waters of the Bering sea searching for that elusive red gold!  But there’s so much more….

(Posted with permission of the F/V North American website)

The F/V North American has a history as does her crew.  Erling Skaar purchased the boat brand new in 1975 and prior to that he was enginer on the F/V Foremost which was owned and run by Sverre Hansen, Captain Sig’s father.  According to Discovery’s blog, Erling Skaar’s fishing skills were taught to him and honed by none other then Sverre Hansen.  Interesting right?  Well for some years, the North American has been out of the loop in the crab fisheries, spending their time up in the Arctic as a reseach vessel, but now they’ve come back.  And now Erling Skaar has two sons running the vessel who have something to prove….

Check out the Discovery blog, it’s fascinating “Deadliest Catch” news…

This entry was posted in Deadliest Catch 4, F/V North American, F/V Northwestern and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Mysterious Red Boat Identified

  1. Lothian says:

    Wonder how the Rollo may play into this??

  2. Jen says:

    I. Can’t. Wait.

  3. Meghan says:

    Whoa this is going to intressting. I like seeing another forward facing wheelhouse being featured again.

  4. DAVE KNOXX TENN says:

    Thanks opilia for another update!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!.And Thanks To Alaska Steve For your work aswell!!!!!!!!!!!!!.THANKS SOOO MUCH. Dave Knoxx Tenn.

  5. opilia says:

    I cant wait either!

  6. DAVE KNOXX TENN says:

    Thats a fantastic shot of a great boat.It looks to be ready to get the red gold.I am out of my mind waiting for season 4!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  7. NW Limited says:

    Thanks for the update!

  8. Andries de Ruiter says:

    Hi there!

    I am Andries and I come from Holland.
    Since I have been watching Deadliest Catch, I have been watching the series very closely. I am very impressed by the men risking their lives doing this and I have a great deal of respect for them.
    Now I build and sail model boats for a hobby and I want to build one of these ships as a fuel/electric rc boat of 1,5 mtrs in length!! But if possible I would like some photo’s as an example. I would like to build the ‘North American’. Who can help me and who can tell me some way to get in contactwith these guys through internet?
    It would mean so much to me and I hope that I get a reply about this.

Leave a Reply

