“Deadliest Catch” skippers Keith Colburn & Blake Painter at the Houston Hot Sauce Festival

The Houston Hot Sauce Festival–an annual event for the last eight years–was held September 22nd and 23rd.  Attending were none other then Captains Keith Colburn and Blake Painter! 

houston2.JPG
Captains Keith Colburn of the F/V Wizard and Blake Painter of the F/V Maverick not only greeted fans, they help raise funds for cancer research–the chosen charity by the Houston Hot Sauce Festival promoters. (photo courtesy of Carol Borge)


The festival has been an annual event since 1999 and offers hundreds of vendor products and is considered a “hot” event to attend.  This year, festival promotor Carol Borge decided to combine her favorite show and favorite hot sauce recipe.  The result:  The Deadliest Batch.  And hence, the reason why she had to find a couple of her favorite fishermen  and bring them to Houston. (photo courtesy of Carol Borge)


Houston local and avid “Deadliest Catch” fan Mystic, made sure to attend the festivities and is a contributor to these event details. (photo courtesy of fan, Mystic)


When asked about crab fishing the upcoming season, Captain Blake responded he was indeed heading up to Dutch Harbor, AK to fish the 2007 King crab season.  These skippers donated many photos and memorabilia for the fund raising auction. (photo courtesy of Mystic)


Captain Keith’s donated items fetched a pretty price:  A jacket of his sold for $400 and a signed Wizard life ring was purchased with a high bid of $800.  According to a fan, “Capt. Keith went over and beyond by greeting fans long before the official ‘appearance time’ ” Note to fans:  According to several fans who attended the festival, there will be two new Wizard crew members for season 4, named Jason and Lynn…. (photo courtesy of Carol Borge)

This entry was posted in Blake Painter, Events/Appearances, Keith Colburn and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to “Deadliest Catch” skippers Keith Colburn & Blake Painter at the Houston Hot Sauce Festival

  1. Jen says:

    OH WOW! Great pictures, Carol! Thanks for getting them up Opilia! And Blake looks ready for the season. I can’t wait to catch him on the Maverick.
    AND LOOK!!! There’s Mystic!!!! Is Sig going to be jealous? LOL.

  2. Cris says:

    Captain Keith is such a nice family man! I was touched during season 3 by his relationship with his children ! Great photos Carol and Mystic! I always appreciate when fellow fans share the visuals !

  3. Carol says:

    I have no words to really express the experience of having the Captain’s here in Houston. I was absolutely star struck when I met Captain Keith Colburn and Captain Blake Painter. After I calmed down… I found out that these guys are the most down to earth terrific people. This also includes Sean Dorris from Harbor Crown Seafood. He was here too. He played an integral part in getting the guys down south. I can’t thank everyone enough for taking part and helping raise money for Cancer Research. Keith, Blake, and the owners of the Maverick – Ric and Donna Quashnik – for donating time and items for auction. Wizard and Maverick items such as hats, shirts, a Wizard Life Ring and more.

    The guys arrived in Houston and hit the ground running, with smiles on their faces. Captain Keith and Sean Dorris headed right to their first appearance on 610 Radio at 5 a.m. Friday, then straight to Channel 13 KPRC. Sean brought crab and with that we set the local personalities on fire with tasty fresh Alaskan King Crab and hot sauce. It was beautiful. Captain Blake arrived Saturday and went from the airport to the festival. It didn’t stop from there nor did the smiles.

    The festival attendance was up – and merchandise sales were brisk. The total numbers are not in – but as soon as they are I will be back on and post. We’re working on updates to the festival site right now with tons more pictures and highlights of the event. I am here to say – Captains’ Keith and Blake can handle the cold and the HEAT !!!!! They braved it all. Temperatures in the 90’s, humidity in the 90’s. and some of the hottest products on the planet. Though I wish I had a camera handy when some of the products were sampled.

    I could go on and on. And I just might on our website…

    I feel like I’ve made new friends. I can’t thank them all enough.

    Carol Borge
    8th Annual Houston Hot Sauce Festival
    http://www.houstonhotsauce.com

    (FYI we will have some autographed Limited Addition “Deadliest Batch” Hot Sauce and more available on the fest website within a week – proceeds benefiting cancer research.)

  4. Jen says:

    Oh cool Carol! *off to check out the hot sauce link*

  5. Cris says:

    Carol,
    I can completely relate to the statement you made when you wrote ” I was absolutely star struck …….After I calmed down… I found out that these guys are the most down to earth terrific people. ” That’s EXACTLY what happend to me !!! They are so totaly cool that they put US at ease ! WOW – sounds like you’ll have the warmth of this experience for a long time ( ;-p )

  6. Carol says:

    Ditto. I still have the warm fuzzies! (sorry keith and blake, if you’re reading… not a tough guy kind of comment – LOL) I will be watching the show with a whole new perspective now. More soon…

  7. Mystic says:

    I must say Capt. Keith is an amazingly kind person who goes out of his way to make his fans feel special and at ease around him. Meeting the Captains was a wonderful experience! I wish to thank Blake and Keith for being so available to us! I think you need to whip up another batch of Hot Sauce Carol…call it Wicked Wizard, and lets get Keith back for next year!

  8. Jen says:

    Ooooo good idea Mystic! I’ll be checking your website for some Deadliest Batch.
    Hot Sauce and crab fishermen. Great combo.

  9. Jen says:

    And Cris, did you get a look at Carol’s t-shirt?

  10. Cris says:

    Yeah Jen! I looks HOT to me!

  11. Carol says:

    I am really liking the Wicked Wizard Sauce idea. I’ll be chatting with Keith!

    I’m in the process of getting some good photos of the Deadliest Batch hot sauce and such to go up on the website.

    Thanks everyone for your great support.

  12. Carol says:

    During all of this post-fest chat… I almost forgot one of the most important things. Wishing ALLof the boats in the fleet kind regards and luck for the upcoming season (and always).

  13. opilia says:

    Absolutely Carol, nothing but best wishes for all the crabbers!

  14. Pingback: “Deadliest Catch” autographed goodies on e-bay « DEADLIEST REPORTS

  15. Kate says:

    I love Blake Painter!!! I really miss seeing him on TV, i wish they would show the Maverick on the new episodes!!!!! I Love You Blake!!!!!!
    Kate

  16. Gabby says:

    Blake looks ready and i hope that him Phil Jake and the Hillstarnds come to Michigan soon i love them really you should see what i do in my free time

  17. Gabby says:

    I love Blake too Kate!!!!!

  18. Gabby says:

    I just remembered something a few days ago i went to the Detroit zoo for the scleraderma foudation we walked the zoo and had a lot of fun i even got my shirt signed by football star Beary Sanders! how cool would it be if Blake and Keith came to lead the walk like Beary Sanders Did! i would love that even more to meet 2 of my favorite guys off the show! and to help all of the people that have Scleraderma they would be a lot of help. 🙂

  19. Gabby says:

    That was some Day of fishin yesterday i feel like the guys on the Maverick we cought nothin:(

Leave a Reply

