Doug Stanley Comments on his Weekly Blogs about Deadliest Catch

06/05/07  Doug Stanley, the director of photography and one of the producers of Deadliest Catch season 3, posts a weekly blog about his travels on the F/V Timebandit during the filming of Deadliest Catch, and later today, he will post a 10th blog to coincide with the 10th episode airing this evening.  For now, he posted a response to all the comments he’s received.  

Hi everyone,
I can’t tell you how much I enjoy being a part of this show.
I love to check in here at my blog, read the comments and answer questions…so here goes.

First question: who is writing the blog?
My name is Doug Stanley. I am lucky enough to be one of the producers of the show and also act as the shows Director of Photography. I am also a big fan of the crab boys.

Hey Mongo. Yes I remember you from Nascar! Zac and I still discuss our adventures there. Running a camera in the pits at Nascar is probably just as dangerous as working on the crab boats. Zac is off chasing tornadoes in Kansas right now. He is also quite visible on the show. When the big waves crack across the deck of the Cornelia Marie, you can clearly see Zac rolling a camera, risking it all for the shot! I will pass on the hello from ya.

We struggle at times in our photography as you might imagine. One of the hardest things we face is providing scale to the waves that the boat is in. You are right, it is difficult because we are on the wave that we are shooting. It really is much bigger than it looks. This year I had the chance to shoot a bunch of boat to boat shots that I am really proud of. You see these shots in the promos, in the show opening and throughout the series. I can’t believe how good they are, we will definitely continue shooting these boat-to-boat shots. They really do give our viewers an idea of the scale.

As far as the 3rd shift bet goes:
I was not on the Northwestern when it had mechanical problems. I will dig around a bit and try to find out what the problem was. If I can figure it out I will post it in this comments area later.

I am glad that we have so many fans watching the show. Your dedication keeps me heading back to sea. It may seem strange, but I love it out there!
Doug

This entry was posted in Original Productions, Production Diaries. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Doug Stanley Comments on his Weekly Blogs about Deadliest Catch

  1. Robert Goddard says:

    Doug-

    I’m hoping I’ve contacted the right Doug Stanley. If I’ve reached the same person who used to guide us thrill seekers down the Grand Canyon, then drop me a reply. This is the same Bob Goddard (brother and uncle of both Dave’s) who used to ride the rapids with ya. Hope this is the same person! If not, I love the show, and compliment you on the outstanding camera work. Quite a job for sure!

    Tanke care,

    Bob

  2. Ralph Navarro says:

    Hey Doug,
    I just saw the behind the scenes show and shit it was Doug Stanley. You and Roger Lee were always crazy and I love you both for that.Its my fav show and Congrads and wish you all the luck!!!!!!!!
    Ralph

  3. opilia says:

    Hi Ralph, Bob…Doug Stanley stops in every once in a great while so eventually he should read your messages. Glad you stopped in.

  4. Kai Peterson says:

    Is this the same Doug Stanley who worked for Outdoors Unlimited on the Tuolumne River in the 1980’s. I worked for Sierra Mac and I believe we did a wild Cherry Creek trip one year.

    I love watching the show. The huge waves. I can’t believe the men are still on the deck once the mammoth waves roll back. Amazing.

    I miss the show when it’s not on. I can hardly wait for the next show.
    Keep up the good work. Cheers, Kai Peterson

  5. robert perkey says:

    doug i hope the new show is going well.thx for the raingear.drop me a line and let me know how your doing.bob

  6. Tracy T says:

    Hi Doug –

    I am a crab fisherman out of Dutch Harbor AK – I am currently fishing and I have 2 DVD’s that I have filmed of our boat & crew etc. Just great, great stuff!

    I would like to send them to you for your review but I don’t have an address.

    The DVD’s are very entertaining so please let me pass them onto you!!

    Thanks,
    Tracy

Leave a Reply

